Jionova on diamonds

Jionova Hair Jewels stands for exclusive quality, both regarding the choice of gemstones and  their masterful production.  Since the beginning of her apprenticeship, Jennifer Althaus has been fascinated by diamonds, but her great passion for jewels followed in her career as a color stone and diamond buyer.

Any diamond that is processed into a Jionova hair piece is subject to strict control and supervision by Jennifer Althaus. Not until its weight is right,  color, purity and the finish form a brilliant symbiosis, the diamond may be processed into a Jionova piece of jewelry. Each diamond weighing more than 0.50 carats has an international certificate of authenticity. This guarantees its fine quality and gives information about the weight, color, purity and cut of the diamond. The interaction of these four components forms the basis for the value of a diamond.

Carat

Carat determines the weight of a gemstone. One carat equals 0.20 grams. This weight unit dates back to antiquity and goes back to the Greek name of “keration” for the seed of the locust tree.

A one-carat stone is worth far more than twice as much as a half-carat stone – but only with the same quality. Two diamonds of the same weight but different quality can vary in value significantly. So a smaller diamond may be more  valuable than a larger one.

For Jionova Hair Jewels, weight is not the only crucial factor in whether a diamond is processed in a piece of jewelry. Rather, it is always a combination of all components that determines its brilliance.

Color

Diamonds are graded / valued for colorlessness rather than color.

The more colorless a diamond is, the rarer and the more valuable it is. Diamonds are ranked in a color scale from D to Z: D stands for the highest-precision colorless, Z for yellow.

Colorscale

Colored diamonds, the so-called “fancies”, are rarer and therefore very precious. This includes all bold colors, such as gray, orange, pink, blue and bright yellow diamonds.

The color of a stone is the only category that cannot be detected by machine. Only the human eye can perceive color differences between stones. This requires several years of professional training and experience.

Jionova Hair Jewels offers  at least color “G” as standard quality.

Clarity

The clarity of a diamond is determined by the number and position of inclusions. They may  affect the brilliance of a diamond. Jionova rejects all diamonds whose inclusions are already visible to the naked eye. If you cannot see any inclusions in a diamond even under 10x magnification, it is considered flawless.

In general, inclusions are a proof of the authenticity of a diamond, so to speak, its fingerprint. There are never two stones with the same inclusion picture.

Jionova Hair Jewels uses only diamonds with a clarity of at least “SI”.

Clarityscale

Cut

The cut of a diamond is the only feature that can be influenced by human hand. The brilliance of the gemstone is based on the innumerable internal light reflections caused by the careful polishing of the individual facets.

Cuts of a diamond

Every diamond grinder has to decide anew on each rough stone which cut should be given to this stone. Only a round diamond with 57 facets  can be called  brilliant. Up to 60 percent of the raw stone is lost during grinding.

Jionova only uses diamonds with a cut from good to very good to provide the highest level of brilliance.

Jionova und die Diamanten

Jionova Hair Jewels steht für exklusive Qualität, sowohl bei der meisterhaften Produktion als auch hinsichtlich der Edelsteine. Jennifer Althaus entwickelte ihre Faszination für Diamanten bereits in ihrer Ausbildung, aber die große Leidenschaft für Juwelen folgte in ihrer Laufbahn als Farbstein- und Diamanteinkäuferin.

Jeder Diamant, der in ein Jionova Haarschmuckstück verarbeitet wird, unterliegt der strengen Kontrolle von Jennifer Althaus. Erst wenn das Gewicht stimmt, die Farbe, Reinheit und der Schliff eine brillante Symbiose bilden, darf der Diamant in einem Jionova Schmuckstück verarbeitet werden. Alle Diamanten ab einem Gewicht von 0,50 Karat besitzen ein internationales Echtheitszertifikat. Dies garantiert die feine Qualität und gibt Aufschluss über Gewicht, Farbe, Reinheit und Schliff des Diamanten. Das Zusammenspiel dieser vier Komponenten bilden die Grundlage für den Wert eines Diamanten.

 

Carat

Karat ermittelt das Gewicht eines Edelsteines. Ein Karat entspricht 0,20 Gramm. Diese Gewichtseinheit stammt aus der Antike und geht auf den griechischen Namen „keration“ des Samenkorns des Johannesbrotbaumes zurück.

Ein Einkaräter ist weit mehr als doppelt so viel wert wie ein Halbkaräter – aber nur bei gleicher Qualität. Zwei Diamanten mit gleichem Gewicht, aber unterschiedlicher Qualität können im Wert deutlich variieren. Es kann also sein, dass ein kleinerer Diamant wertvoller ist als ein größerer.

Für Jionova Hair Jewels ist das Gewicht nicht ausschließlich entscheidend, ob ein Diamant in einem Schmuckstück verarbeitet wird. Vielmehr ist es immer ein Zusammenspiel aller Komponenten, die über die Brillanz entscheiden.

 

Color

Bei Diamanten geht es weniger um die Farbe als vielmehr um die Farblosigkeit. Je farbloser ein Diamant ist, desto seltener und desto wertvoller ist er. Diamanten werden in einer Farbskala von D bis Z eingestuft: D steht für das hochfeinste Weiß, Z für gelb getönt.

Farbskala-Diamanten

Farbige Diamanten, die sogenannten „Fancies“, sind seltener und daher sehr kostbar. Hierunter fallen alle kräftigen Farben, wie graue, orange, pinke, blaue und kräftig gelbe Diamanten.

Die Farbe eines Steines ist die einzige Kategorie, die nicht maschinell erfasst werden kann. Nur das menschliche Auge kann Farbunterschiede zwischen Steinen wahrnehmen. Dafür bedarf es mehrjähriger, professioneller Erfahrung.

Jionova Hair Jewels bietet als Standardqualität mindestens die Farbe G an.

 

Clarity

Die Reinheit eines Diamanten wird anhand der Vielzahl und der Position von Einschlüssen festgelegt. Diese können die Brillanz eines Diamanten beeinträchtigen. Jionova lehnt alle Diamanten ab, deren Einschlüsse schon mit bloßem Auge erkennbar sind. Kann man bei einem Diamanten auch unter 10-facher Vergrößerung keine Einschlüsse erkennen, gilt dieser als lupenrein.

Generell sind Einschlüsse ein Nachweis für die Echtheit eines Diamanten, sozusagen ihr Fingerabdruck. Es gibt keine zwei Steine mit dem gleichen Einschlussbild.

Jionva Hair Jewels verwendet nur Diamanten mit einem Reinheitsgrad von mindestens SI.

Reinheitsskala-Diamanten

 

Cut

Der Schliff eines Diamanten ist das einzige Merkmal, das von Menschenhand beeinflusst werden kann. Die Brillanz des Edelsteines beruht auf den zahllosen inneren Lichtreflexionen, die durch den sorgfältigen Schliff der einzelnen Facetten hervorgerufen werden.

Krümmung-Diamanten

Jeder Diamantschleifer muss bei jedem Rohstein neu entscheiden, welchen Schliff er diesem Stein geben soll. Nur ein runder Diamant mit 57 Facetten darf sich Brillant nennen. Bis zu 60 Prozent des Rohsteins geht beim Schleifen verloren.

Jionova verwendet nur Diamanten mit einem Schliffgrad von gut bis sehr gut, um ein höchstes Maß an Brillanz bieten zu können.